About Ewyas Lacy


Finding your way around

Click for a map of Ewyas Lacy and the parishes of Craswall, Cusop, Llancillo, Llanveynoe, Longtown [with Clodock], Michaelchurch Escley, Newton, Rowlestone, St Margarets, and Walterstone


Frequently Asked Questions pages give general advice. For more specific queries, our search engine accesses over 10,000 records spanning more than two millennia. For general browsing, material is organised as Records or Research. A further 80,000 images of original documents and photographs are available in our Digital Archive. Please respect our conditions of use .

Welcome to our website which is dedicated to the history of this South-West corner of Herefordshire. The site has been put together and is maintained by a group of local historians who are enthusiastic about their heritage and its preservation. It contains historical records of the people and places in the ten modern parishes which together formed the ancient lands of Ewyas Lacy.



Quick Links

Ewyas Lacy

Local Themes

Lords of the Manor

Main Properties

Manorial Records

Parish Registers

Tithe Maps

Trade Directories

Video Archive Listing

Wills and Probate









Searchable summaries and transcriptions



Analysis and interpretation



Document images, photographs, video clips and oral history